State Of Origin Special: The Birth Of A Series – The Wally Lewis Era 1980-1991

In the first of a three part series we look at the history of the Rugby League State Of Origin series. As we look at the history of interstate football between NSW and QLD from 1908 to 1981 and we talk about the birth of State Of Origin football.

We go through each thrilling series, the highlights, the low-lights, the players who stood out, and the people that shaped this incredible contest.

This is the Wally Lewis Era, from 1980 to 1991. We hope you enjoy it!

We would love your feedback on this episode so if you have anything to say just email us at

You can also follow Andrew Ferguson and The Glorious League Freak on their respective twitter accounts.

Check out The Rugby League Project for all your Rugby League statistics. Also check out The Official Website Of The Glorious League Freak for all your Rugby League news and opinions.

Become a supporter of the Rugby League Project Patreon.

Click here to listen to this episode!

Default image
Rugby League Podcasting Network
Rugby League expert, writer, commentator, content producer, owner of and co-host of the Fergo and The Freak podcast.
Leave a Reply